top of page

Old way new way: Is Krav-Maga open to everybody?

Before addressing to this title, I have to make you read few words first.

In my traveling around the world, students often ask me this question: “How was it back then, when Imi was alive and Krav Maga was in the beginning?”

I met Imi in 1980. Imi was already famous in Israel as the head master and founder of the Krav Maga system. I was a young person with some experience in martial arts and just started training in Krav Maga.

From the outside and for beginners, Krav Maga looked complete. It had all the components of a complete system. As time passed, I got to know Imi and the man that he was. Often my teacher Jim Keenan took me with him to meet with Imi. Also the instructor Simon Harpaz visited Imi regularly, and I was fortunate to be in many of these meetings too. It was great to sit with and to hear Imi talk about Krav Maga, but I realised that although most people around Imi were satisfied from the system as it was, Imi never stopped thinking how to make it better. The conversations between Imi and Jim were fascinating. To make a long story short my conclusion from this was to never ever sit and rest, thinking that you got it, but to always ask the two questions that Jim taught me to ask: “What am I doing?” and “What is the reason I am doing it?”

Now, how do these two questions relate to the title of the blog? The connection is in the evolution of Krav Maga.

When Krav Maga was out of the Army and was introduced to civilians, the motto was that there is a place for everyone in Krav Maga. Interesting... Really?

Is it? Are we really welcoming everybody inside the system? Do we really give a chance for everyone to flourish inside the system?

Is there a place for "weak" people in Krav Maga?

Oh yes, everybody will tell you “Yes, Krav Maga is for everyone, everybody can enjoy the benefits of Krav Maga!”

But, let me tell you something my friends, there is a catch in the way here.

I have been traveling, teaching and practicing Krav Maga for "some time" now, and the picture is not as correct as all instructors and organisations claim.

Lots of instructors are trying to be very tough with the people (their students) and they been following their teacher’s way, a way that was formed in the beginning.

If Imi was alive today, probably he would ask himself some serious questions, such as: “Is what I created as a system for everybody really now for everybody?”

The majority of the Krav Maga schools around the world emphasize their training on aggressiveness and fierceness that suits young people, particularly men with a heavy load of testosterone.

For me, the way I see it, this is just a small part of Krav Maga. It is the first and oldest approach that was good and still good for army and law enforcement and fighting units, where the people (usually men) are powerful and strong.

Now, if it was good in the old days, and today it's good for just a small part of the population, are we practicing with the old approach now, if Krav Maga suits only these people?

Since I am no longer in the army for many years now, and most of my students are civilians, including woman and kids, I ask myself the two questions: “What am I teaching (in what manner also)?” And “To who am I teaching it (what is the purpose)?”

The time for a new approach in teaching Krav Maga has arrived.

Think about this: Who are YOU? What is your goal? Who are your students? Is there a place for the old way today? Do you want train in traditional Krav Maga, on the path like the other traditional systems which are not connected to the new reality? Or do you still want to train Krav Maga, as a system that is alive and evolving?

Adaptation is the number one quality that keeps mankind from extinction.

Haim Sasson

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page